What is a UAB?


A Virginia Under Age Buyer, AKA UAB, is a person under the age of 21, hired by the Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority Enforcement Division to attempt to purchase alcohol in licensed locations.

UAB's are chosen for their young looking appearance in hopes that the seller/server of alcohol refuses the sale.

UAB's use their valid identification, indicating they are under 21 years of age.

Selling to a UAB in VA may result in a conviction of a Class 1 Misdemeanor-which can result in a fine up to $2,500 and/or up to 12 months in jail.

VA licensee's are charged administratively when a sale occurs to a person less than 21 years of age and the charge may result in a fine of $2,500.00 or a 25 day suspension of their alcohol license and in some cases fines may be as much as $7,000.00

Save money by getting your employees certified with Toast VA--alcohol seller/server training. This course is online, self-paced, fun and very educational.